This is Our District

11th NC Congressional District

How is it made up?

Much like the NC General Assembly, McDowell County's Congressional (Federal) representatives are broken into a bicameral legislature: the House and the Senate.  The Congressional House of Representatives currently has 435 voting members. 

The members of the House of Representatives serve two-year terms representing the people of a single constituency, known as a "district". Congressional districts are apportioned to states by population using the United States Census results, provided that each state has at least one congressional representative.  McDowell County is located in the N.C. 11th Congressional District (also called D11) and this district encompasses most of Western N.C. 

Starting in the 113th Congress (2013-2015), it is represented by House Member Mark Meadows (R). Meadows replaced Democrat Heath Shuler, who retired in 2013. Shuler had won the seat in the 2006 midterm elections, defeating 8-term Republican Representative Charles H. Taylor. Representative Meadow's seat is up for re-election in November 2018

Please see our candidate pages to see our candidates running against Representative Meadows. 
The 11th District was traditionally one of the most competitive congressional districts in North Carolina. This was largely because of the district's volatile politics. It was historically anchored by Asheville, which was heavily Democratic. However, many of the city's suburbs are among the most conservative areas of North Carolina. The rest of the district was split between Democratic-leaning counties in the south and Republican-leaning counties in the north. Consequently, congressional races in this district have historically been very close and hard-fought.

In 2011 the Republican-dominated legislature redrew the district, shifting most of Asheville to the 10th district. To make up for the loss in population, the 11th absorbed some strongly Republican territory in the Foothills which had previously been in the 10th. On paper, the 11th was one of the strongest Republican districts in the South. In February 2012 Shuler announced he would not seek a fourth term. Meadows won the seat in 2012.

Our current representative, Mark Meadows consistently votes against the interests of normal folks in our district. He even voted to shut down the federal government, resulting in serious economic harm to the tourism industry of western NC, and he has said he will gladly do it again.  His voting record includes attacks on our national forests, affordable healthcare, voting rights, civil rights, infrastructure improvement, women's rights, education, campaign finance reform, the arts, immigration reform, Social Security, workers rights, and even the air we breathe and the water we drink.  

Even in n this heavily gerrymandered district, Mark Meadows needs to be sent home. It is time for the people of western North Carolina to be represented by someone who cares about OUR values, instead of those of the Koch brothers, Art Pope and the American Legislative Exchange Council.  It is time to return our district to the people. We the people can make this happen, despite the odds being stacked against us. It is up to us.

Congressional Senators

U.S. Senators, unlike Congressional Representatives, are not bound by district but represent an entire state with each state being equally represented by two senators, regardless of its population, serving staggered terms of six years; with fifty states presently in the Union, there are 100 U.S. Senators.  McDowell County, and the rest of North Carolina, are currently represented by two Senators: Richard Burr (R) and Thom Tillis (R).  

Richard Burr's seat is not up for re-election until 2022.  

Thom Tillis' seat is not up for re-election until 2020.  

Join our Newsletter

Local and National news and events delivered to your inbox...